Connect with ETAN
Like ETAN on Facebook Follow ETAN on Twitter ETAN on Google+ ETAN email listservs ETAN blog ETAN on LinkedIn ETAN on Pinterest ETAN on Instagram Donate to ETAN!

Subject: ETRA Denis Freney Activist Award 1998
Date: Mon, 26 Oct 1998 10:43:44 +0000
From: Kieran Dwyer <>

from East Timor Relief Association (ETRA)

Denis Freney Memorial East Timor Solidarity Award Inaugural Award 1998

The Denis Freney Memorial Award will annually recognize the outstanding commitment and work of an activist, anywhere in the world, working in solidarity for East Timor

Denis Freney (1936-1995) was probably the most significant Australian in the history of the East Timor solidarity movement. He worked tirelessly for this cause between 1974 to the late 1980s.

When it became apparent that Suharto's dictatorship was going to invade East Timor, Denis established the Campaign for an Independent East Timor in Australia.

He wrote the book East Timor Freedom Caught Between the Powers, arranged for delegations to visit East Timor and for East Timorese Representatives to visit Australia, Fiji and New Zealand in late 1974.

Later, after Roger East established the East Timor News Agency which published East Timor News, Denis Freney continued this work in Australia. For many years, the East Timor News Agency operated a newspaper from Sydney to supply information to the Australian solidarity. It was the major source of news from East Timor in the early years of the Indonesian occupation.

In addition, Denis wrote many articles about East Timor in Tribune, a prominent left wing paper.

He also coordinated a coalition of East Timorese solidarity groups in Australia and organised a number of East Timor national Activists' Conferences which were held in Melbourne, Canberra, Sydney and Adelaide.

Denis died in 1995 after a long battle against cancer.

Details and Criteria


The prize will be a

  • Medal
  • Certificate
  • And symbolic financial support

and will be presented to the winner (if physically possible!) at the annual end-of-year ETRA dinner on 4 December, 1998 in Melbourne Australia.

The certificate will include a message from Xanana Gusmao and/or Jose Ramos-Horta and respective signatures.


To be nominated for the prize, candidates must be proposed and seconded by individuals or organisations. Each nomination must be accompanied by a report outlining the nominee's contribution to East Timor solidarity work, addressing the Award Criteria.

All nominations must be sent to ETRA, PO Box 1102, Parramatta NSW 2124, by 20 October 1998 (EXTENDED to 1 November 1998)

Award Criteria

The Award aims to acknowledge the outstanding work of individual activists, rather than organisations or institutions. The criteria for the Denis Freney Memorial Award are one or more of the following:

  • Long term commitment and dedication to East Timor solidarity work
  • Significant work on a special project promoting awareness of the East Timorese struggle for independence
  • Significant contribution to national and international understanding of the situation in East Timor
  • Provision of humanitarian aid to people in need within East Timor
  • Significant assistance to East Timorese refugees in Australia or other parts of the world (eg organisation of sanctuary for those facing deportation)
  • Relative availability of institutional and personal resources
  • Nominees may be any nationality, and live in any country in the world.


The ETRA Board will each year appoint an independent panel of judges to decide the Award. The panel will include one member of the ETRA Board.

For more information about ETRA, all aspects of East Timor and the East Timorese people's struggle for peace and self determination, see the ETRA website at:

If you require further info please contact the ETRA main office direct (details below)

Kieran Dwyer ETRA Board Member

Kieran Dwyer
East Timor Relief Association PO Box 1102 - Parramatta NSW 2124 Australia
email :

Back to October Menu
Back to Main Postings Menu & Site Search Engine